FIU College of Engineering and Computing

Florida International University - Electrical and Computer Engineering
Main Content
Breadcrumbs

Faculty

Learn More

Malek Adjouadi, Ph.D.

Ware Professor

Research Interests: Brain research with neuroscience applications and assistive technology

Email: adjouadi@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2672

Phone: (305) 348-3019

Kemal Akkaya, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Network Security, Internet of Things, Cyber-Physical Systems Security

Email: kakkaya@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3915

Phone: (305) 348-3017

Website »

Elias Alwan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Antennas, RF System, Millimeter-wave, Secure 5G Communication Systems

Email: ealwan@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3953

Phone: (305) 348-5424

Jean H. Andrian, Ph.D.

Interim Dept. Chair / Associate Professor

Research Interests: Application of Category Theory on Modeling Complex Systems

Email: andrianj@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3913

Phone: (305) 348-2115

Wilmer Arellano, Ph.D.

Associate Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Electronic Design, Vehicular Ad Hoc Networks (VANETs), VANET Simulations

Email: arellano@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3834

Phone: (305) 348-4905

Website »

Ou Bai, Ph.D.

Associate Professor / GPD PhD only

Research Interests: Autonomous Systems, Robotics, and Control, Biomedical Sensors, Signals, and Systems

Email: obai@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3954

Phone: (305) 348-3704

Website »

Armando Barreto, Ph.D.

Professor, Director of the Digital Signal Processing Lab

Research Interests: Digital Signal Processing and Image Processing

Email: barretoa@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3981

Phone: (305) 348-3711

Website »

Shekhar Bhansali, Ph.D.

Distinguished University Professor

Research Interests: Micro/Nanotechnology with a special interest in Biomedical Sensors

Email: sbhansa@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3984

Phone: (305) 348-4439

Website »

Shubhendu Bhardwaj, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Sub-mm-wave, Terahertz Antennas, Modeling-Methods

Email: sbhardwa@fiu.edu

Office: 3910

Phone: (305) 348-5444

Website »

Amaury Caballero, Ph.D.

Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Electrical Communication, Control Systems, Construction Management

Email: amaury.caballero@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3240

Phone: (305) 348-1950

Website »

Mercedes Cabrerizo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Signal and Image Processing

Email: cabreriz@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2223

Phone: (305) 348-7053

Gustavo Chaparro-Baquero, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Computer Organization and Architecture, Real-time Systems and Applications, Embedded Systems

Email: gchaparr@fiu.edu

Office: EC 1272

Phone: (305) 348-1051

Hai Deng, Ph.D.

Associate Professor / GPD M.S.

Research Interests: Networking Communication, Radar Signal Processing, MIMO Radar and Radar Networks

Email: hdeng@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3956

Phone: (305) 348-0478

Website »

Yu Du, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Wireless Communication, Internet of Things, Engineering Education

Email: ydu@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3105

Phone: (305) 348 - 2886

Bilal El-Zahab, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor

Research Interests: Development of electrodes and electrolytes for emerging battery technologies

Email: belzahab@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3172

Phone: (305) 348 - 3558

Luis Galarza, Ph.D.

Interim Dept. Associate Chair / Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Image Processing, Signal Processing, System Design

Email: galarzal@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3944

Phone: (305) 348-8464

Stavros V. Georgakopoulos, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Origami Antennas, Wireless Power Transfer, Wearable Antennas

Email: georgako@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3173

Phone: (305) 348-1262

Website »

Mehdi Hatamian, Ph.D.

Distinguished University Professor

Research Interests: CMOS Integrated circuits and SoC systems, Biomedical electronics and cancer screening technologies

Email: mhatamia@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3900

Phone: (305) 348-2807

Ahmed Ibrahim, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Wireless Communication and Networking with emphasis on millimeter wave and optical networks

Email: aibrahim@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3144

Phone: (305) 348-7846

Website »

MD Shafiul Islam, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Artificial intelligence, robotics, embedded system, FPGA, DSP, renewable, and biomedical engineering.

Email: mdsislam@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3105

Phone: (305) 348-4942

Vivek Kamat, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Biosensors, Microfluidics, and Nanotechnology

Email: vkamat@fiu.edu

Office: EC 1652

Phone: (786)656-8504

Grover L. Larkins, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: R&D of Cryogenic Communications Systems intended for space-based applications

Email: larkinsg@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3830

Phone: (305) 348-2807

Website »

Arjuna Madanayake, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Multidimensional signal processing, antenna array processing and phased-array technologies

Email: amadanay@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3983

Phone: (330) 957-8704

Osama A. Mohammed, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of Research, Interim School Director / Distinguished University Professor

Research Interests: Solving the smart grid operation and its communication

Email: mohammed@fiu.edu

Office: Dean's Office

Phone: (305) 348-3040

Website »

Mubarak Mujawar, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Wearable sensors and systems, Micro and nanofabrication, Engineering education

Email: mmujawar@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3945

Phone: (305) 348 - 7371

Website »

Nonnarit O-Larnnithipong, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Digital Signal Processing, MEMS Inertial Sensors, Human-Computer Interactions

Email: nolarnni@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3105

Phone: (305)348-2926

Nezih Pala, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Integrated Nanotechnology and Biotechnology

Email: npala@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3142

Phone: (305) 348-3016

Website »

Imtiaz Parvez, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Wireless Communication, Cyber-Physical Security, Smart Grids

Email: iparvez@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3815

Phone: (305) 348-2807

Sumit Paudyal, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Power and Energy Systems, Smart Grid, Cyber-Physical Systems

Email: spaudyal@fiu.edu

Office: EC3914

Phone: (305) 348 - 8017

Alexander Pons, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Cybersecurity, IoT, Networking and Embedded Systems

Email: apons@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3145

Phone: (305) 348-7253

Vladimir Pozdin, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Wearable health monitoring In-situ sensing Organic electronics Flexible inorganic devices

Email: Vladimir Pozdin <vpozdin@fiu.edu>

Office: EC 3982

Phone: (305)348-7788

Gang Quan, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Embedded Systems/Computer Architecture and Microprocessor Design

Email: gaquan@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3911

Phone: (305) 348-2808

Website »

Mohammad Ashiqur Rahman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Security and Resiliency Analysis and Design, Cyber-Physical Systems/Internet of Things, Computer Networks

Email: marahman@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3955

Phone: (305) 348-3724

Md Tauhidur Rahman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Hardware Security and Trust, Emerging Memory Technologies, Reliability

Email: mdtauhidur.rahman@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3984

Phone: (305) 348-5061

Website »

Pulugurtha Markondeya Raj, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Electronic and bioelectronic systems, RF/5G Components

Email: mpulugur@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2925

Phone: (305) 348-6950

Gustavo Roig, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Engineering Education, Human Potential Development

Email: roigg@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3265A

Phone: (305) 348-3700

Arif I. Sarwat, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Smart grids, smart cities, high-penetration renewable systems, microgrid, Critical Infrastructure, EV and security

Email: asarwat@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3913

Phone: (305) 348-4941

Website »

Apurva Sonawane, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Micro/nanofabrication, MEMS, Plasma treatments on nanoparticle surface, Point-of-Care Biosensing, Sensor data analysis

Email: asonawan@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3105

Phone: (305)348-3163

Atoussa H. Tehrani, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Computer Architecture, Embedded Systems, Data Communications

Email: hosseini@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3113

Phone: (305) 348-4943

Asahi Tomitaka, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Nanotechnology, Biotechnology, Nanomedicine, Biosensor

Email: atomitak@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3105

Phone: (305) 348-2980

A. Selcuk Uluagac, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Cybersecurity, Security of IoT, Security of Cyber-Physical Systems

Email: auluagac@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3141

Phone: (305) 348-3710

Website »

Frank Urban, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Graduate and undergraduate education

Email: urban@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3953

Phone: (305) 348-3705

Yuri Vlasov, Ph.D.

Associate Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Solid State Physics, MEMS, Sensors, Nanotechnology

Email: vlassovy@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3832

Phone: (305) 348-1056

John Volakis, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Engineering and Computing & Professor

Research Interests: RF/Electromagnetics, Medical Sensing, Antennas & Communications

Email: jvolakis@fiu.edu

Office: Dean's Office

Phone: (305) 348-1197

Website »

Herman Watson, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor / Undergraduate Program Director

Research Interests: Embedded Systems, ARM, Biomedical Sensors

Email: hwatson@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3951

Phone: (305) 348-3018

Website »

Subbarao Wunnava, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus Distinguished

Research Interests: Data Communications and Networking; VLSI

Email: subbarao@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3960

Phone: (305) 348-2807

Kang K. Yen, Ph.D.

Professor, Assistant Provost, Professor / GPD China Program

Research Interests: Control Systems and Cyber-Physical Systems

Email: yenk@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3174

Phone: (305) 348-3037