FIU College of Engineering and Computing

Florida International University - Electrical and Computer Engineering
Main Content
Breadcrumbs

Faculty

Learn More

Malek Adjouadi, Ph.D.

Ware Professor, Distinguished University Professor

Research Interests: Image Processing, Neuroimaging, Machine Learning and Assistive Technology.

Email: adjouadi@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2672

Phone: (305) 348-3019

Kemal Akkaya, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Network Security, Internet of Things, Cyber-Physical Systems Security, Blockchain

Email: kakkaya@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3915

Phone: (305) 348-3017

Website »

Mohammad Shah Alam, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Wireless Communication and Networking, Internet of Things, Grid Modernization

Email: moalam@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3105

Phone: (305)348-3163

Elias Alwan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Antennas, RF System, Millimeter-wave, Secure 5G Communication Systems

Email: ealwan@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3952

Phone: (305) 348-5424

Jean H. Andrian, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Application of Category Theory on Modeling Complex Systems

Email: andrianj@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3912

Phone: (305) 348-2115

Wilmer Arellano, Ph.D.

Associate Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Electronic Design, Vehicular Ad Hoc Networks (VANETs), VANET Simulations

Email: arellano@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3834

Phone: (305) 348-4905

Website »

Ou Bai, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Autonomous Systems, Robotics, and Control, Biomedical Sensors, Signals, and Systems

Email: obai@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3954

Phone: (305) 348-3704

Website »

Mandrita Banerjee, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Hardware-assisted security of processor and IoT security

Email: mbanerje@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3105

Phone: (305) 348-2807

Armando Barreto, Ph.D.

Professor, Director of the Digital Signal Processing Lab

Research Interests: Digital Signal Processing and Image Processing

Email: barretoa@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3981

Phone: (305) 348-3711

Website »

Shekhar Bhansali, Ph.D.

Distinguished University Professor, Lucent Technologies CALA Distinguished Professor

Research Interests: Micro/Nanotechnology with a Special Interest in Biomedical Sensors

Email: sbhansa@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3171

Phone: (305) 348-4439

Website »

Amaury Caballero, Ph.D.

Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Electrical Communication, Control Systems, Construction Management

Email: amaury.caballero@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3240

Phone: (305) 348-1950

Website »

Mercedes Cabrerizo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Signal and Image Processing

Email: cabreriz@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2223

Phone: (305) 348-7053

Gustavo Chaparro-Baquero, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Computer Organization and Architecture, Real-time Systems and Applications, Embedded Systems

Email: gchaparr@fiu.edu

Office: EC 1272

Phone: (305) 348-1051

Mehmet Hazar Cintuglu, Ph.D.

Adjunct faculty / Principal Project Engineer

Research Interests: Energy storage, microgrids, multiagent systems, and cyber-physical security of power systems

Email: mcint015@fiu.edu

Office: TBA

Phone: (305) 348-3807

Hai Deng, Ph.D.

Associate Professor / GPD M.S.

Research Interests: Networking Communication, Radar Signal Processing, MIMO Radar and Radar Networks

Email: hdeng@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3956

Phone: (305) 348-0478

Website »

Yu Du, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Wireless Communication, Internet of Things, Engineering Education

Email: ydu@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3105

Phone: (305) 348 - 2886

Ahmed Ebrahim, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Power Electronics Control, Renewable Energy Integration, Smart Grid, Energy management, Grid-Connected converters, and Electrical Drive Applications.

Email: aebrahim@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3910

Phone: (305) 348-2807

Juan Farah, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

Research Interests: Real Time Transmission System Contingency Analysis, Transmission Constraints and Bulk Energy Management Systems

Email: farahj@fiu.edu

Office: TBA

Phone: TBA

Trina Fletcher, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Secondary Appointment

Research Interests: Data science, longitudinal analysis, DEI in engineering and computing education

Email: trfletch@fiu.edu

Office: EC 1270

Phone: (305) 348-0196

Luis Galarza, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Image Processing, Signal Processing, System Design

Email: galarzal@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3944

Phone: (305) 348-8464

Stavros V. Georgakopoulos, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Origami Antennas, Wireless Power Transfer, Wearable Antennas

Email: georgako@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3173

Phone: (305) 348-1262

Website »

Mehdi Hatamian, Ph.D.

Distinguished University Professor

Research Interests: CMOS Integrated circuits and SoC systems, Biomedical electronics and cancer screening technologies

Email: mhatamia@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3900

Phone: (305) 348-2807

Deidra Hodges, Ph.D.

Department Chairperson /Associate Professor

Research Interests: Quantum Circuits, Optoelectronic Devices, Photovoltaics and Radiation Detectors

Email: dhodges@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3984

Phone: (305) 348-5091

Website »

Seng Hong, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

Research Interests: Antenna Array, Radar Systems, Electronic Warfare Technology

Email: sehong@fiu.edu

Office: TBA

Phone: (305) 348-2807

Ahmed Ibrahim, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Wireless Communication and Networking with Emphasis on Millimeter Wave and Vehicular Communications

Email: aibrahim@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3144

Phone: (305) 348-7846

Website »

MD Shafiul Islam, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Artificial intelligence, robotics, embedded system, FPGA, DSP, renewable, and biomedical engineering.

Email: mdsislam@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3105

Phone: (305) 348-4942

Stavros Koulouridis, Ph.D.

Visiting Professor

Research Interests: Antenna Design, 5G Antennas, Implantable Antennas, Wireless Harvesting, Medical Applications of Microwaves

Email: skoulour@fiu.edu

Office: TBA

Phone: TBA

Aleksandr Krasnok, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Photonics, Quantum Optics, Quantum Physics

Email: akrasnok@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2777

Phone: (737)781-1203

Website »

Grover L. Larkins, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: R&D of Cryogenic Communications Systems intended for space-based applications

Email: larkinsg@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3830

Phone: (305) 348-2807

Website »

Arjuna Madanayake, Ph.D.

Associate Professor/GPD PhD Program only

Research Interests: Multidimensional Signal Processing, Antenna Array Processing and Phased-array Technologies

Email: amadanay@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3983

Phone: (330) 957-8704

Osama A. Mohammed, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of Research, School Director / Distinguished University Professor

Research Interests: Solving the Smart Grid Operation and its Communication

Email: mohammed@fiu.edu

Office: Dean's Office

Phone: (305) 348-3040

Website »

Mubarak Mujawar, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

Research Interests: IoT, Wearable Sensors, Micro/nanofabrication, MEMS, Engineering Education

Email: mmujawar@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3900

Phone: (305)348 2807

Website »

Nonnarit O-Larnnithipong, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Digital Signal Processing, MEMS Inertial Sensors, Human-Computer Interactions

Email: nolarnni@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3105

Phone: (305)348-2926

Nezih Pala, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Integrated Nanotechnology and Biotechnology

Email: npala@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3142

Phone: (305) 348-3016

Website »

Sumit Paudyal, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Power and Energy Systems, Smart Grid, Cyber-Physical Systems

Email: spaudyal@fiu.edu

Office: EC3914

Phone: (305) 348 - 8017

Website »

Alexander Pons, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Cybersecurity, IoT, Networking and Embedded Systems

Email: apons@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3145

Phone: (305) 348-7253

Vladimir Pozdin, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Wearable Health Monitoring In-situ Sensing Organic Electronics Flexible Inorganic Devices

Email: Vladimir Pozdin <vpozdin@fiu.edu>

Office: EC 3982

Phone: (305)348-7788

Website »

Gang Quan, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Real-time computing system design, advanced computer architecture, cloud computing

Email: gaquan@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3911

Phone: (305) 348-2808

Website »

Mohammad Ashiqur Rahman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Security and Resiliency Analysis and Design, Cyber-Physical Systems/Internet of Things, Computer Networks

Email: marahman@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3955

Phone: (305) 348-3724

Website »

Md Tauhidur Rahman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Hardware Security and Trust, Emerging Memory Technologies, Reliability

Email: mdtauhidur.rahman@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3942

Phone: (305) 348-5061

Website »

Pulugurtha Markondeya Raj, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, secondary appointment

Research Interests: Electronic and bioelectronic systems, RF/5G Components

Email: mpulugur@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2925

Phone: (305) 348-6950

Reynaldo Max Padro

Adjunct Instructor

Email: rpadro@fiu.edu

Office: TBA

Phone: TBA

Website »

Gustavo Roig, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Engineering Education, Human Potential Development

Email: roigg@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3265A

Phone: (305) 348-3700

Matthew Ruddell

MEDEX Trainer III\Lecturer

Research Interests: Practical applications of Digital Forensics

Email: mruddell@fiu.edu

Office: TBA

Phone: (727)395-2511

Website »

Arif I. Sarwat, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Smart Grids, Smart Cities, High-penetration Renewable Systems, Microgrid, Critical Infrastructure, EV and Security

Email: asarwat@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3913

Phone: (305) 348-4941

Website »

Mst Shamim Ara Shawkat, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: VLSI Circuit Design, Neuromorphic Computing Hardware, Photodetector design, Integrated Smart Sensors for Biomedical Applications

Email: mshawkat@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2678

Phone: (305) 348-5128

Website »

Jayesh Soni, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Associate

Research Interests: Artificial Intelligence and Cyber Security

Email: jsoni@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2174

Phone: (305)348-4238

Atoussa H. Tehrani, Ph.D.

Dept. Assistant Chair / Associate Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Computer Architecture, Embedded Systems, Data Communications

Email: hosseini@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3113

Phone: (305) 348-4943

A. Selcuk Uluagac, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Cybersecurity, Security of IoT, Security of Cyber-Physical Systems

Email: auluagac@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3141

Phone: (305) 348-3710

Website »

Himanshu Upadhyay, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Big Data, Visualization, Cybersecurity , Advanced Cyber Analytics, Memory Forensics

Email: upadhyay@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2142

Phone: (305)348-6603

Website »

Frank Urban, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Ellipsometry; Beta Gallium Oxide Endocrinology; Cortisol Modeling Biomechanics: Fatigue Modeling

Email: urban@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3953

Phone: (305) 348-3705

Rafael Soltero Venegas, Ph.D.

Associate Teaching Professor

Email: rsoltero@fiu.edu

Office: RB 302B

Phone: (305)348-3620

Website »

Satheesh Bojja Venkatakrishnan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: In-band full duplex techniques, Interference Mitigation, wireless communications, remote sensing, and bio-medical sensing and systems

Email: sbojjave@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2947

Phone: (305) 348-5350

Yuri Vlasov, Ph.D.

Associate Teaching Professor

Research Interests: Solid State Physics, MEMS, Sensors, Nanotechnology

Email: vlassovy@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3832

Phone: (305) 348-1056

John Volakis, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Engineering and Computing & Professor

Research Interests: RF/Electromagnetics, Medical Sensing, Antennas & Communications

Email: jvolakis@fiu.edu

Office: Dean's Office

Phone: (305) 348-1197

Website »

Herman Watson, Ph.D.

Assistant Teaching Professor / Undergraduate Program Director

Research Interests: Embedded Systems, ARM, Biomedical Sensors

Email: hwatson@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3951

Phone: (305) 348-3018

Website »

Alexandria Wong

MEDEX Trainer III\Lecturer

Research Interests: Practical applications of Digital Forensics

Email: alwong@fiu.edu

Office: TBA

Phone: (727)395-2511

Website »

Subbarao Wunnava, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus Distinguished

Research Interests: Data Communication and Networking, VLSI

Email: subbarao@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3960

Phone: (305) 348 - 2807

Kang K. Yen, Ph.D.

Professor, Assistant Provost, Professor / GPD China Program

Research Interests: Control Systems and Cyber-Physical Systems

Email: yenk@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3174

Phone: (305) 348-3037

Konstantinos Zekios, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Theoretical & computational electromagnetics, Antennas, Microwave engineering

Email: kzekios@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2940

Phone: (305) 348-2270